Rancho Santa Margarita Texting While Driving Car Accident Lawyer

As technology has improved, many advancements have been incorporated into vehicles that have improved overall safety. Back-up cameras, alert signals for merging, GPS technology, are just a few of the modern systems increasingly found in new automobiles. Not all technology, however, is beneficial while on the road. As texting has become a primary form of communication, many roads are now full of drivers who recklessly read and send text messages while operating their vehicles.

If you or your loved ones were injured from such a driver, you should contact a Rancho Santa Margarita texting while driving car accident lawyer. After a consultation with a local personal injury attorney, you may gain a better understanding of your legal rights, and depending on your case, a means to seek compensation for your damages. With the help of a legal ally by your side, you may be able to achieve a favorable resolution to your situation.

California Car Insurance Requirements

When someone is involved in an accident, especially one frustratingly caused by a driver who was texting while driving, the general inclination is to sue the party who caused the collision. Prior to bringing that suit, however, a plaintiff should contact their insurance company. California requires that drivers be insured, at a minimum, for $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person and $30,000 per accident.

A plaintiff may seek compensation from both their insurance and by pursuing a claim against the defendant in court. Insurance liability coverage could typically be received and subsequently used by the plaintiff, however more quickly and efficiently than seeking damages via a lawsuit. Because of the potential variety of unique insurance plans, a plaintiff should speak with a texting while driving car accident lawyer from Rancho Santa Margarita to understand their policy and options.

Reporting a Car Accident and Filing a Lawsuit

When an individual is involved in a car accident caused by another, two important deadlines must be kept in mind. First, per the California Vehicle Code §20008, the driver, or a representative of a driver, involved in an accident must file a written report of the crash if the collision resulted in injuries or death. This report is filed with either the California Highway Patrol or police department where the accident occurred, and it must be done within 24 hours.

Two-Years to File a Lawsuit

After filing a report regarding their accident, the statute of limitations under California Code of Civil Procedure §335.1 permits a plaintiff two years from the date of the accident to file a claim. If a claim is brought after the expiration of this deadline, the defendant would likely raise the issue with the court, and the case would generally be dismissed. A Rancho Santa Margarita texting while driving car accident attorney could help a plaintiff avoid this and potentially other applicable statutes of limitations.

Call a Rancho Santa Margarita Texting While Driving Attorney Now

An injured plaintiff should contact a Rancho Santa Margarita texting while driving lawyer today. Depending on the details of your situation, a local personal injury attorney may be able to help you seek compensation for your injuries and expenses that resulted from this incident.

The sooner a plaintiff contacts their local attorney, the sooner the lawyer may be able to begin to read reports, interview witnesses, gather evidence and generally prepare a case to advocate on behalf of the plaintiff. Call today and see what could be done for you.